mirandazac

Please join us in welcoming the first wave ( wink emoticon ) of the FOURTH generation of the Yerger/Hileman/and now Combs family home to the farm. grin emoticon grin emoticon grin emoticon

Farewell to Kentucky, CCD

It is with mixed emotions that I write to let you
know that I will be relinquishing the role of
Extension Associate with the Center for Crop
Diversification at the University of Kentucky on
June 15th, 2015. I am leaving this position to return
to my family farm in Apollo, Pennsylvania to take
over vegetable operations and manage marketing
strategies. I will be the fourth generation on
Kistaco Farm (www.kistacofarm.com), which
was started in 1922 by my great-grandfather.
Kistaco Farm’s main crop has always been
apples alongside freshly squeezed apple cider.
Currently my parents own and operate the
business, which includes a roadside farm market,
participation in a year-round farmers market
in Pittsburgh, contribution to a cooperative CSA
program, and direct marketing to restaurants in
Pittsburgh. My husband and I are thrilled to have
this opportunity set before us, and know that we
have many ideas about what else to do on the
farm. In the future, I can be reached at hilemanm@
gmail.com. Please continue to let me know what’s
happening in your county or on your farms, and
if you ever travel to southwestern Pennsylvania,
please look us up!

It has been a pleasure and privilege to work
with so many of you throughout the 5 years
I have worked with UK Extension. I’ve been
constantly inspired by the passion, creativity, and
commitment of everyone here. Again, it’s been
a pleasure working with you all and I sincerely
hope our paths cross again very soon.

All the best,
Miranda

